At the Sprott School of Business, we strive to recognize students who have achieved academic excellence by providing the opportunity to become a member of the Carleton University Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS), the international honour society associated with AACSB International.

Offering the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive, Beta Gamma Sigma has been an established academic honour society since 1919. With over 750,000 members and 556 Chapters worldwide, Beta Gamma Sigma celebrates academic excellence in undergraduate and graduate business studies.

Membership to Beta Gamma Sigma is only available through business schools accredited by AACSB International – the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Those eligible for membership include:

  • Top 5% of third year undergraduate students;
  • Top 10% of graduating undergraduate students;
  • Top 20% of graduating masters students;
  • PhD students who have completed their program requirements; and
  • All tenured and confirmed faculty members.

The Carleton Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma was established in 2014.

Beta Gamma Sigma Induction Ceremony

BGS Students

An Induction Ceremony takes place in June to welcome our newest members into the Beta Gamma Sigma – Carleton University Chapter. Invitations are extended in May to all eligible candidates. Family, friends, faculty and staff are invited to attend the ceremony to congratulate our Beta Gamma Sigma inductees on their academic success!

To date, the Sprott School of Business has inducted 247 Beta Gamma Sigma members: