A team of students from the Sprott School of Business has won Canadian School of the Year and third place overall in the fourth annual John Molson Undergraduate Case Competition, a week-long business competition that challenges teams from internationally renowned business schools to put their creative and analytical skills to the test.  In addition, BCom student Ben Ryan took home the Best Male Presenter Award. A big congratulations goes out to Sprott students C.J. Gordon, Ben Ryan, Tania Steyn, Rhea Wootton and their coach, Professor Rob Riordan!

Organized by students from Concordia University’s John Molson School of Business, this year’s competition saw teams representing 24 universities from around the world, including BI Norwegian Business,  Dublin Institute of Technology, University of Sao Paulo and Purdue University. Maasterich University (Netherlands) and Hong Kong University of Science and Technology took first and second place, respectively.

Throughout the course of the competition, each team is required to apply the knowledge and skills they have acquired in the classroom towards solving real business cases (three 3-hour cases and one 24-hour case). Once the analysis is completed, each team  presents their recommendations along with a detailed plan of action to a judging panel of corporate executives.

Sprott advanced to the finals for the third consecutive year and finished third overall. Sprott also brought home Canadian School of the Year, topping host John Molson School of Business, Wilfrid Laurier School of Business, Western’s Ivey School of Business, Brock University, HEC Montréal and the University of Alberta.

JMUCC 2012 took place from February 19-23 in Montreal.

Congratulations to the 2012 JMUCC Sprott team!

Monday, February 27, 2012 in ,
Share: Twitter, Facebook